Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4

In Year 10 and 11 all students follow a GCSE programme of study and sit qualifications in these core subjects:

  • GCSE English Language and Literature
  • GCSE Mathematics
  • GCSE Science and Additional Science
  • GCSE Religious Education

All students also have a non-GCSE programme of study in Physical Education and PSHE/Citizenship.

Option subjects

In addition to the above, students can choose to follow GCSE (or other Level 2) programmes of study in four of the following subjects:

Element 2 subjects Element 3 subjects
Geography Business Studies PE (GCSE) Art
History ICT PE (BTEC) Food Technology
Health & Social Care Music (BTEC) Graphics
Computing Performing Arts (BTEC) Product Design
Further Additional Science Dance Textiles

All students have the opportunity to study the EBacc suite of qualifications and all subjects meet the Progress 8 curriculum and cover all three elements.

Timetable allocation

The curriculum is delivered to all students over a two week timetable. Each day there are 5 lessons which are each 1 hour in duration. Therefore the two week timetable consists of 50 hours of learning which are allocated as follows:

Subject Allocated hours (over 2 weeks)
English Language and Literature 7 hours
Mathematics 7 hours
Science 9 hours
RE 5 hours
Core PE 2 hours
Option subject 1 5 hours
Option subject 2 5 hours
Option subject 3 5 hours
Option subject 4 5 hours

Timetable provision for PSHE/Citizenship is 1 hour each fortnight delivered as a rolling programme on the school calendar.

KS4 Courses for Year 11 2017-18

KS4 Courses for Year 11 2017/18